canadian pony club Logo

Canadian Pony Club

National Prince Philip Games Championship

In spite of electricity blackouts, silent phones, and changes in plans, the national Prince Philip Games Championship went forward at York Equestrian Centre on Friday August 15, 2003.

The morning was occupied with pony tryouts, as the competitors must all ride borrowed ponies. There was a pool of six sets of five ponies, but alas, the Davisburg team from Alberta South Region was delayed by transportation problems until just before the competition proper and did not get to try any of the sets. This put Davisburg at a considerable disadvantage.

Come afternoon, all six teams lined up for the first race and an exciting competition ensued. Over six sets of three races, with teams changing sets of ponies for each, so that no one team had an advantage, overall standings changed virtually race by race, with Temiskaming Pony Club of Central Ontario Region in the Central Canada Zone ahead until the last set. In the final set, Vancouver Pony Club and East Maple Ridge Pony Club, both from the BC Lower Mainland Region in the Pacific Zone forged ahead. Vancouver took the honours to retain the National Championship.

Strathcona Pony Club from the Alberta North Region in the Prairie Zone won the Most Sportsmanlike Team trophy. King, owned by Kevin Durward of the Uxbridge Scugog Pony Club, Central Ontario Region won the Most Valuable Pony Award.

The first place Vancouver team (BC Lower Mainland Region) is made up of Jordan Maynard, Whitney Strachan, Stephanie Taylor, Ali Vilvang and Paul Woodham . Coach is Margot Vilvang.

In second place is the East Maple Ridge team (BC Lower Mainland Region), made up of Chelsey Dale, Meg Foster, Alicia Kayes, Amanda Mayer and Jessica McDowell. Coach is Terry Mayer.

In third place is the Temiskaming team (Central Ontario Region) made up of Bethany Brown, Shauna Chester, Mallory Durling, and Jessica McVittie. Coach is Doug McVittie.

In fourth place is the Uxbridge Scugog team (Central Ontario Region) made up of Mori Cruikshanks, Sean Cruikshanks, Darlene Smith, Laura Parliament and Ashley Postill. Coach is Carol Couch.

In fifth place is the Strathcona team (Alberta North Region) made up of Lindsay Campbell, Ricki-Lee Gillespie, Katie MacBeth, Robyn MacBeth and Tiffany Runnels. Coach is Lindsay Acheson.

In sixth place is the Davisburg team (Alberta South Region) made up of Meghan Laderoute, Kezia Morrison, Breanna Ortynski and Jacqueline Stephenson. Coach is Mike Laderoute.

For more information, get in touch with Liz or Bob Inglis, Central Ontario Region Pony Club Communications Co-Chairs, or call 416-493-1223 (office) or 416-491-4230 (home).